A great Web Filtering Solution

Do you have a useful link that involves the Church and the technology discussed on this site? Post your links and resources here.
happy1z

A great Web Filtering Solution

Post by happy1z »

I work in the IT industry. I know the topic of Web Filtering at home is a big topic. I have been equally concerned about this topic with my kids. For Buisness's who have the money buying a large scale solution for the company is a great option. One of the popular solutions out there is Blue Coat. This is a solution that is used around the world for buisness's. I have experience with the this product and have been very impressed with its abilities.

The great news is that this same company has a FREE home solution using the same dynamic database that is used in there product sold to companies.

http://www.k9webprotection.com/

I am really suprised that this option has not been talked about. It is great for parents and Free. It is a piece of software that is loaded on a PC and has a very small memory footprint. I have noticed no speed difference with the software loaded and it gives me the ability to block by time as well as log what is going on.

This is well worth looking at and trying.

** Disclamer: I am not affiliated with Blue Coat and do not sell products **
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators

Post by Mikerowaved »

I moved your post here and started a new thread. It will be easier for others to find and comment on if they desire. That other thread was getting a little wild and really needed to be locked.

Although I have not used K9, I have read a couple of good reviews on it.

Mike
So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
lajackson
Community Moderators

Post by lajackson »

I have been looking for something like this for several months now. I downloaded and installed this program today.