Sophos Virus Disabled in Windows 7

Discussions around the setup, operation, replacement, and disposal of clerk computers, not to include using MLS
KenRichins
Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 5:07 pm
Location: Live Oak, California, United States

Postby KenRichins » Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:57 am

I installed a new Computer win7 on the 13th and the A/v is working fine! had no issues except that after install had to do 2 back to back A/V updates then all worked well. perhaps the issue has been resolved with an update by Sophos

Aczlan
Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 4:29 pm
Location: Upstate, NY, USA

Postby Aczlan » Mon Jan 23, 2012 7:50 pm

RussellHltn wrote:Ohhh, that can earn someone a reprimand if they did that at work.

Been there, found the rouge device. A library had strange issues with getting online on the Friday before the new year. Found that a misconnected device had convinced the firewall that it should be the DNS server, even though it was in a different subnet (192.168.1.x vs 10..x.x.x).
Had to go onsite (~20 minute drive) and found that the computers had a bad DNS server address. Took almost a half hour to find which of the 5 wireless access points (WRT54GL boxes with OpenWRT) was causing problems.

Aaron Z

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 27654
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Tue Jan 24, 2012 9:25 am

As was noted in another thread, it appears the mls.lds.org site was updated yesterday. If anyone is still having problems, it might be worth downloading the newest Sophos and installing it.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.

vannso
Church Employee
Church Employee
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:23 am
Location: Riverton, UT

Postby vannso » Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:36 am

I'm not sure who you spoke to in Salt Lake but there is NO contractual dispute with Sophos and nothing has been disable. From reading your post it looks like you're running the built-in antivirus that is on windows 7. That option needs to be disable in windows for Sophos to run properly.

hdarre
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 10:31 am
Location: Denmark, Copenhagen

Postby hdarre » Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:12 am

We have the same problem on at least 2 MLS pc's also running Win7.
I raised the problem with Global Service Center, but apart from being transferred between different departments there was no help.


Return to “Clerk Computers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest