Page 1 of 2

MLS Graphing Program Update

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:00 pm
by R-Enemy-p40
I just released a new version. You can get it here.

Thanks for those testing this out. Hopefully you'll find the additions useful. I did make a major change by making it work for .NET 2.0, however, I don't have a computer I can test this out on. Can someone who hasn't upgraded to 3.0/3.5 please download it and test it for me.

R-Enemy

Still one big thing on my to do list is to include pie charts. So, this will be coming soon.

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 7:55 am
by R-Enemy-p40
Figured I'd better list the changes on this post too, in case you don't want to click the link above to read the changes:

http://www.whitelawdesigns.com/

version 1.03 (2/26/2008)

Big update: Added single ward support. When importing a single ward file the ward name comes over as "Totals". It also imports the % data too. You can now re-name and change the color on any of the wards and data lines by right-clicking the item. Added single graph mode. This allows you to quickly compare wards. Added data labels on the graph. Added fixed 0 y-axis option to better compare data. Added equal y-axis to better compare data. Added customizable background colors. Added smooth line feature. Added symbol changes for data lines. Now uses line number on imports rather than data name. This will compensate for the name change that happened a few quarters ago. Just import a new quarter first if you want the new name. Otherwise, import and then re-name. Now runs on .NET 2.0 Framework instead of .NET 3.5 Framework.

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:00 am
by aebrown
R-Enemy wrote:I just released a new version. You can get it here.

Thanks for those testing this out. Hopefully you'll find the additions useful. I did make a major change by making it work for .NET 2.0, however, I don't have a computer I can test this out on. Can someone who hasn't upgraded to 3.0/3.5 please download it and test it for me.


Actually, the previous version worked fine on .NET 2.0, which surprised me since you had mentioned that it required .NET 3.5. I ran it on a machine that only had .NET 2.0 installed -- I was curious what the error message would be. Contrary to my expectations, it ran just fine. I'll check out the new version to make sure that's still the case.

You also might want to take a look at the 25 Feb 2008 Presiding Bishopric letter detailing changes in the quarterly report. It looks like some line numbers have changed on the quarterly report starting in April, so you may need to make some adjustments to your data import routines.

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:30 pm
by R-Enemy-p40
Thanks for the heads up on the line numbers. I'll look into this. Also, the error I thought that might happen when using .NET 2.0 would've been when checking for updates. If that works fine then I guess we're good. That is interesting though because in Visual Studio it was first set to a target of 3.5 so I assumed it wouldn't work on 2.0. When I changed it to 2.0 I did have to update a few things, but mainly the web stuff to check for updates.

Thanks,
Randy

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:27 pm
by unixguy
Alan_Brown wrote:You also might want to take a look at the 25 Feb 2008 Presiding Bishopric letter detailing changes in the quarterly report. It looks like some line numbers have changed on the quarterly report starting in April, so you may need to make some adjustments to your data import routines.


Is this letter available online, or can someone give us a brief description of the changes?

Problems with login

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 2:30 am
by marianomarini
When program starts it show me an ID "Vicenza 1 2" and ask for a password.
Because there are 2 units that share the Pc how can the program distinguish between the two?
Of course any try to login failed!

Posted: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:29 am
by R-Enemy-p40
Sorry, I have no idea what you're asking. Is it MLS or your network asking for a login? My graphing program doesn't need any login so if you're trying to run it from a network drive and you're being asked for a username and password, it must be for the network login.

Posted: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:44 am
by marianomarini
Sorry, you are right. The problem occur with another program that use MLS database.
I posted int the wrong forum, I'll try your graphic program very soon.
Sorry again.Image

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:58 pm
by frigby-p40
Do you have a link to download your MLS graph program?

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:36 pm
by opee
Download page (from a few posts earlier...)