Page 1 of 1

Reprinting Expense Report?

Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 4:04 am
by dannykos
Hi, if we have a printing error when trying to print the expense report - how can we go back and try and print it again, if we've already clicked through and finished the batch?

Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 4:54 am
by ecotim
one time shot. I did the same the print out was garbled and I had already closed the screen. I called CHQ and they said it can not be reprinted. I had to hand write that page as a note in case the auditors saw that one.

Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 5:28 am
by aebrown
ecotim wrote:one time shot. I did the same the print out was garbled and I had already closed the screen. I called CHQ and they said it can not be reprinted. I had to hand write that page as a note in case the auditors saw that one.


Although the expense report is useful, it is not essential. Some units choose to use the signature of the bishop or stake president on the expense report as the authorization for the expenses listed on that particular report, which is definitely an acceptable practice. Indeed, the only mention of it in the audit form is to say that "The bishop's signature on the MLS Expense Report is acceptable proof of his approval," and so the auditor should not be looking for it and certainly should not be requiring it. But it's not the only place the unit leader can place his signature authorizing the expenditure (it can be on an expense authorization form, or on the invoice/receipt).

So if it can't be printed, there's no need to hand write it, or recreate it in any way -- just make sure that the expenses printed in that batch are properly authorized by the bishop or stake president.

Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 6:05 am
by simonawright
If it bothers you that you don't have a report printed from MLS you can print those expenses off from the 'view/update expenses' screen using a custom report showing only the date the expenses were entered. It won't have the format of the original but it will have the same basic info.

But as aebrown mentioned it is not a requirement and should not be the cause of any concern

Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 10:16 am
by dannykos
Thanks all. Auditors over here aren't really all that clued up, and so I can imagine having to explain the reasons why the report wasn't included in that batches documentation. My clerk hand-wrote it in the end ;)