Page 1 of 1

Migrating MLS from old computer to new

Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 1:15 am
by Galorin-p40
We've been using MLS in our unit for about two years now. We've been sent a computer to replace it with. What is the standard procedure for migrating across user accounts, and all the data in MLS?

Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:49 am
by russellhltn
Copy:
C:\Program Files\LDS Church\MLS\data
C:\Program Files\LDS Church\MLS\units
C:\Program Files\LDS Church\MLS\Dialer.properties

Also copy anything you want to save in My Documents, etc.

Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:53 am
by Galorin-p40
Ta, will do that this week. We're also supposed to start using the wireless internet that the FHC uses, but I can chase that up on the local level.

Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:50 am
by russellhltn
I forgot to mention you probably should copy C:\mlsData-backup if you've been making backups on the C drive. If you are using Desktop 5.5 on the new machine, you should copy it to the D drive.

Also, I'm 95% sure you'll need to contact CHQ for a security reset before the new computer will be able to o a send/receive. You can call ahead, but make sure you don't do a send/receive from the old machine after that phone call.

Posted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 12:18 am
by Galorin-p40
The new PC came from the Stake set up with MLS on it already, but only one user account, and no data. Thanks again.

Posted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 5:40 am
by aebrown
Galorin wrote:The new PC came from the Stake set up with MLS on it already, but only one user account, and no data. Thanks again.


I guess every stake can operate differently, but in my stake, I (as Stake Technology Specialist) would make sure any new computer is completely set up and functioning with all data transferred. I wouldn't just drop off the PC and hope the ward could figure it out.

Although we're certainly happy to help, it seems like you could be asking your STS for specific help in getting the new PC working -- that is his job!

Posted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 5:53 am
by Galorin-p40
If we had a Stake Technology Specialist, it'd probably be me. As is, I believe the PC came direct from Solihull, which looks after the whole of the UK as far as MLS Computery Stuff goes, it's them who I call when MLS goes bad, so I guess it's them that I'll call for this one if things don't work as planned.

Ta all.

Posted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 11:13 am
by russellhltn
Galorin wrote:The new PC came from the Stake set up with MLS on it already, but only one user account, and no data.


I see from your messages you're in the U.K. (You might want to update your location. We tend to be US-centric out of habit. :o) That's certainly different then what I've seen this past month in the US. We just got a machine with a generic WinXP load on it. Just like you'd get in the store. (Well, maybe not. I don't think it came with a bunch of trialware that seems to infect most new machines. :rolleyes:)