Page 1 of 1

What if I didn't print out my stuff before CUBS went live?

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:24 am
by Riley.Loader
Yea, I know this sounds way bad, but I got so many of those CUBS emails that after awhile I figured I knew what was going on. But I didn't follow the last bit of instructions of getting everything in order before the update, so now what can I do to straighten out our system?

So far what I have done is have my financial clerk go back month by month in our paper records and calculate what was taken from each category, and I'm looking for the beginning of the year budget allocation so I can just put all the values in once I find the differences. Is there anything I can or should be doing aside from this to help make things roll a little more smoothly?

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:51 am
by crislapi
If you don't have your pre-reports, try this trick. It worked for me on a couple wards. Important point, though, is to do this on another computer and NOT your MLS computer. It starts here.

As for comparing, I'm wondering how crucial it really is. Your data got overwritten w/ CHQ data. If CHQ didn't have the data already, it either wouldn't have shown up on your CUFS, or a check would not have been covered, etc. I don't know that it's worth the effort.

Trying to compare donations was easy, but comparing expenses is not as straight forward as I was hoping. Anything entered as a transfer (Other Items section of reconcile, for example) would not have been included in your pre-CUBS expenses report. If your clerks used this screen to enter DC orders, etc, these all now show on the expenses report. And if there are items they forgot, they will now be there. Just trying to distinguish between all that is going to drive them nuts and, 99.9% of the time the CUBS data will be correct and they will put a lot of effort into getting the pre-CUBS report to match.

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:15 pm
by Riley.Loader
Sweet. I didn't know it was a download away. I bet I get great results with that. Thanks for the help.

And I can get my password (to access the download) if I have a working copy of MLS, correct? How do I exactly do that?

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:29 pm
by aebrown
scooterx3 wrote:I can get my password (to access the download) if I have a working copy of MLS, correct? How do I exactly do that?


The stake clerk or stake technology specialist should have the password. It might be in an old message in MLS, if you've saved messages that far back, but I don't remember the last time the password was given in an MLS message. It's been a long time (well over a year ago). Also, see the wiki article MLS download site.

Posted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:11 pm
by mamadsen
One trick that we learned in doing this was you will need to change the computer date to October 17th, for MLS to allow you to run the reports.