New maps beta now available!

Use this forum to discuss issues that are not found in any of the other clerk and stake technology specialist forums.
lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 10230
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Postby lajackson » Sat Jan 02, 2010 9:54 pm

mkmurray wrote:That sounds more like the intersection of the Prime Meridian and the Equator. In other words, a default spot when the software doesn't know what to map?
Indeed it is. Still, I wonder if it has to do with it being a military stake that would overlap the boundaries of other regular stakes.

But you are correct. Longitude zero at the equator is a few hundred miles south of Ghana.

psnarula
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany

Postby psnarula » Sun Jan 03, 2010 6:24 am

Yes, it is in fact zooming to 0,0. I don't think I would have picked up on that.

To clarify -- my stake has boundaries that are contained entirely inside Germany. And yes, these boundaries overlap with several other German stakes in the Europe Area (my stake is also in the Europe Area). So it is something of a nonstandard situation.

A new Stake Clerk was called today. Maybe I'll give him a week to adjust before asking about the Unit Boundary Information in CDOL.

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 10230
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Postby lajackson » Sun Jan 03, 2010 10:02 am

psnarula wrote:Yes, it is in fact zooming to 0,0. I don't think I would have picked up on that.

To clarify -- my stake has boundaries that are contained entirely inside Germany. And yes, these boundaries overlap with several other German stakes in the Europe Area (my stake is also in the Europe Area). So it is something of a nonstandard situation.

A new Stake Clerk was called today. Maybe I'll give him a week to adjust before asking about the Unit Boundary Information in CDOL.
In this case, it does appear then that the problem is one of coding the accurate location of the stake.

jonesrk
Church Employee
Church Employee
Posts: 1975
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:12 am
Location: Farmington, UT, USA

Postby jonesrk » Sun Jan 03, 2010 2:37 pm

kisaac wrote:I often wonder at the limitations we have placed on us. I really don't think this is a Church leadership decision, but seems a lower level software programmer decision.

For example: As a ward clerk, whose job assignment from my bishop is to assure all the details of the ward (membership transfers, address correction, to name a few) are maintained correctly, why would I not be allowed to look at the "official" boundary map for my unit? Or other wards in my own stake? They've granted ward clerks access to all the "sensitive" CDOL, but withheld the ability to see my ward boundary map? Puzzling....
Actually as the programmers we gave the ability to the administrators to grant rights to the maps. In looking at it, that role was given to the stake positions, I'm assuming for boundary change needs, but was not given to the ward positions. If this is something that should be changed then provide that information through the feedback and they can review the request. If approved they can give those rights to the ward positions as appropriate.

psnarula
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany

Postby psnarula » Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:12 am

This morning I updated my address in MLS to remove the APO mailing address that had been populating the "Street 2" field. So now my address in MLS is compatible with mapping software like Google Maps. The APO mailing address that used to live entirely in the "Street 2" field has been moved to the Mailing Address fields.

I logged in to beta-maps.lds.org with great anticipation. As expected, my "new" address is visible. Basically it looks like this:

<Street> <number>
Wiesbaden, Hessen 65205

instead of:

<Street> <number>
CMR xxx Box xxxx APO, AE 09096
Wiesbaden, Hessen 65205

Hessen is the German state where we live. So everything that shows up is correct. Unfortunately, the map says I have an "Unverified location" and then it tries to map a location in Columbia, Missouri (which has US zip code 65205).

Evidently the map data is completely ignoring the country field in MLS that would tell it my address is in Germany instead of Missouri. *sigh*

RossEvans
Senior Member
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:52 pm
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Postby RossEvans » Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:14 am

psnarula wrote:This morning I updated my address in MLS to remove the APO mailing address that had been populating the "Street 2" field. ...

Unfortunately, the map says I have an "Unverified location" and then it tries to map a location in Columbia, Missouri (which has US zip code 65205).

Evidently the map data is completely ignoring the country field in MLS that would tell it my address is in Germany instead of Missouri. *sigh*

AFAIK, the beta maps geocoding does not yet reflect any address changes that are made in MLS, even though the updated addresses are displayed as text. So I suspect the geocoding was done in earlier batch-processing of you address before it was edited. So that part of what you are seeing is probably a timing issue.

The original geocoding process almost surely knew that it was unable to resolve your street address and was defaulting the the 65205 zip code centroid of your old malformed address. That status was very likely captured internally. (BTW, I also suspect that the same thing occurred with out unit's data.)

One of my observations about the data is that the beta application is that ward clerks should certainly be informed about the internal quality status. I also think that when the quality level is this low, that very approximate point should not be plotted at all. Rather, this household should be among those coded as an "Unmapped location." IMHO, the minimum level of quality that should be plotted is an interpolated street-segment address. Zip-centroids, city centroid or even whole street centroids just provide a false sense of completeness, and points get plotted in grossly wrong locations.

As for the "Unverified location" status, that applies to all addresses plotted on the map until the ward clerk expressly clicks to verify them, which in most cases will also involve moving the marker visually in a drag-and-drop operation. (Almost all our addresses are "unverified" because we have not yet done this step.) Every address for every unit, after the initial geocoding, starts with a status of either "Unverified location" or "Unmapped location."

psnarula
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany

Postby psnarula » Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:10 pm

boomerbubba wrote:I suspect the geocoding was done in earlier batch-processing of your address before it was edited. So that part of what you are seeing is probably a timing issue.

The original geocoding process almost surely knew that it was unable to resolve your street address and was defaulting the the 65205 zip code centroid of your old malformed address. That status was very likely captured internally. (BTW, I also suspect that the same thing occurred with our unit's data.)
What you say sounds reasonable. But why wouldn't it map some generic location in the German 65205 postal code instead of some generic location in the US 65205 zip code? My country is (and always has been) Germany.

RossEvans
Senior Member
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:52 pm
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Postby RossEvans » Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:43 pm

psnarula wrote:What you say sounds reasonable. But why wouldn't it map some generic location in the German 65205 postal code instead of some generic location in the US 65205 zip code? My country is (and always has been) Germany.
My guess is that the address parser got confused by the conflation of the APO address and the German address in the original data, so it just fell back on the Zip code.

neffs
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:49 pm
Location: USA

Postby neffs » Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:00 pm

I am a ward clerk, verified when clicking on "Home". I have been able to move members and verify addresses; however, most of my groups are "unmapped" and when I click on a member in a group on the left, the pop-up balloon does not pop-up.

What do I need to do to get the "unmapped" pop-up for these groups? I would like to break up some of the groups and get the others located in the right place.

Thanks,

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 30968
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:15 am

Neffites wrote:What do I need to do to get the "unmapped" pop-up for these groups? I would like to break up some of the groups and get the others located in the right place.
I don't have the answer, but first I'd suggest checking the address to see if it's in the proper format. If not, then I'd suggest updating MLS with a good address. "unmapped" means that the system was unable to determine a place based on the address. It could be that it's simply too new for the system to know about, but the most common cause is an improperly formatted address that's confusing the system.

Addresses are grouped based (from what I can tell) the street number.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.


Return to “General Clerk Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users