New maps beta now available!

Use this forum to discuss issues that are not found in any of the other clerk and stake technology specialist forums.
neffs
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:49 pm
Location: USA

Postby neffs » Sun Jan 24, 2010 8:55 pm

RussellHltn wrote:...but the most common cause is an improperly formatted address that's confusing the system.
I made some address changes today in MLS, how often does beta-maps.lds.org get updates from MLS?

neffs
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:49 pm
Location: USA

Un-mapped Group

Postby neffs » Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:24 pm

Neffites wrote:I made some address changes today in MLS, how often does beta-maps.lds.org get updates from MLS?
OK, I'll answer my own question. I made the changes in MLS yesterday, and they are now reflected in beta-maps.lds.org.

I standardized all the address in a group. They now look like this
[INDENT]"1750 Hitching Post Dr Apt 55"

[/INDENT]however, the group is labeled
[INDENT]"1750 Hitching Post dr. Apt # 55".

[/INDENT]Until about 3 weeks ago this address had 2 households assigned to it. I moved one of those households out. I wonder if the reason I can't access this group is because that one household is now been assigned to the black hole of lost souls at CHQ.

So I still have 2 groups that are un-mapped and the the pop-up balloon does not pop-up when I click on them.

I know this is still "beta" but does anybody have any ideas how to gain access to these groups so I can break them up?

Thanks,

User avatar
mfmohlma
Senior Member
Posts: 854
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:45 pm
Location: Hillsboro, OR

Postby mfmohlma » Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:14 am

Neffites wrote:I know this is still "beta" but does anybody have any ideas how to gain access to these groups so I can break them up?
This definitely sounds like the kind of bug they're trying to find with a beta. Please use the feedback link to report it.

rpyne
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Provo, Utah, USA

Postby rpyne » Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:53 am

I noticed a problem recently with how the original locating is done. It appears that if the mapping database doesn't have the exact address, it uses other sources such as name or phone number to determine the location. This has left some positions as much as 2000 miles off for my ward. I have tied several times to move these, but they always revert back to where they were, which leaves me to think that there is some limitation on how far a tag can be moved.

Using a phone number for determining location is becoming increasingly less valid as more and more people are keeping cell phones as their only phone and moving around the country without changing their number.

RossEvans
Senior Member
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:52 pm
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Postby RossEvans » Thu Jan 28, 2010 10:04 am

rpyne wrote:I noticed a problem recently with how the original locating is done. It appears that if the mapping database doesn't have the exact address, it uses other sources such as name or phone number to determine the location. This has left some positions as much as 2000 miles off for my ward. I have tied several times to move these, but they always revert back to where they were, which leaves me to think that there is some limitation on how far a tag can be moved.

I doubt very much that the phone number has anything to do with the geocoding.

In the cases of obviously far-away locations, or even some nearby addresses, the geocoded location for the membership record does not change when the member moves or the address is edited in MLS. As I understand it, this timing issue is an artifact of the beta, and will be fixed.

neffs
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:49 pm
Location: USA

Postby neffs » Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:47 pm

Neffites wrote:
So I still have 2 groups that are un-mapped and the the pop-up balloon does not pop-up when I click on them.

I know this is still "beta" but does anybody have any ideas how to gain access to these groups so I can break them up?

Thanks,
Today, I went back to play with the lost groups and found that the 11 families in the one group all showed up as verified; however, they were still grouped. When I clicked on one of the families, the group balloon popped up, but it showed there were no households in the group.

So I edited the group, changed the name and the address. After saving the changes, the group showed up properly.

dwh33
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 7:25 am
Location: Bronx, New York

Postby dwh33 » Mon Feb 15, 2010 8:36 am

I am a clerk in the Bronx and have been verifying addresses on the beta maps site for our ward over the past few weeks. Today I went to verify a few more and all the work I had previously done did not show up. Even my own address was no longer verified. Any suggestions on what to do?

dwh33
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 7:25 am
Location: Bronx, New York

Postby dwh33 » Mon Feb 15, 2010 8:48 am

dwh33 wrote:I am a clerk in the Bronx and have been verifying addresses on the beta maps site for our ward over the past few weeks. Today I went to verify a few more and all the work I had previously done did not show up. Even my own address was no longer verified. Any suggestions on what to do?
I just tried logging in with a different browser (Firefox, rather than Chrome) and the issue resolved itself. Sorry to bother everyone.

User avatar
mkmurray
Senior Member
Posts: 3241
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:56 pm
Location: Utah
Contact:

Postby mkmurray » Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:29 pm

dwh33 wrote:I just tried logging in with a different browser (Firefox, rather than Chrome) and the issue resolved itself. Sorry to bother everyone.
Thanks for the heads up though; I've just recently become a Chrome user and so this is good to know.

rontilby
Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:22 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA

Postby rontilby » Sat Feb 20, 2010 9:43 am

I was horrified the first time I logged in and all my previous work appeared to be gone. (It reappeared later in the day.) I'm pretty sure this has more to do with refreshing/maintenance on the server side than which browser is used on the client side.


Return to “General Clerk Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users