New maps beta now available!

Use this forum to discuss issues that are not found in any of the other clerk and stake technology specialist forums.
User avatar
mkmurray
Senior Member
Posts: 3241
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:56 pm
Location: Utah
Contact:

Postby mkmurray » Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:00 am

boomerbubba wrote:...The ideal for single-family lots, I think, is to use the parcel frontage to locate the address along the street, and a modest setback. That way you get precision and retain a point useful for automated driving directions.

This is a great suggestion for almost everyone here...that have "single-family lots" as you said. I'm beginning to realize that from a practical standpoint, the physical dimensions of our ward make the notion of driving directions laughable.

Also, we don't really have a defined lot of land that we own. I believe they do it where every buyer owns some ambiguous, small fraction of the total land covered by the community. In half of the ward boundaries, the front doors are all really close to the street for which their address denotes. Moving the markers roughly to where each front door is seems like it will make the most sense and be fairly practical even for driving directions. However, in the other half of the ward, the front door locations are all facing opposite the street in its address. Instead the garages always face the street. I could move the markers to the garages to help with driving directions, but there is no where you are allowed to park near the house. Guests are to use provided parking areas scattered around the complex. So again, it seems like marking the front doors make the most sense.

Driving directions really become walking directions in my ward and it seems like the front door makes the most sense for each household for our ward's needs. Would there be any side effects I'm overlooking if I went with a plan like this?
Many questions are already answered on the LDSTech wiki. Check it out!

jwtaber
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 7:01 am
Location: Elsmere, Delaware, USA

Postby jwtaber » Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:13 am

I'm stake membership clerk, and I have two questions:

1) Should I be alerting the ward and branch clerks to this, so they can start verifying locations? If so, how would they go about it?

2) Would it be possible for me to download household lat-longs for my stake, to plug in to the stake geocode layer I'm maintaining?

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 15123
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:42 am

JTaber wrote:I'm stake membership clerk, and I have two questions:

1) Should I be alerting the ward and branch clerks to this, so they can start verifying locations?


It's only in beta at this point. I imagine an official notice will come out when the testing is complete. But I see no harm in letting the clerks know so that they can get a headstart on verifying locations.

JTaber wrote:If so, how would they go about it?


All they need is an LDS Account, and to be properly listed in MLS (and thus the CDOL) with the correct standard calling so that the site can verify that they are ward clerks.

JTaber wrote:2) Would it be possible for me to download household lat-longs for my stake, to plug in to the stake geocode layer I'm maintaining?


Unfortunately, stake clerks have no rights to this system other than what any regular stake member gets. So you can get that information for your own ward, but not for any other ward in the stake. If you want that information for the whole stake, you'll have to ask someone in each ward and branch to login, download the information to a CSV file, and send it to you.

It would be nice for stake clerks to at least have read-only access to the data for all the wards in the stake, but that's not currently possible.

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 15123
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Stake boundaries?

Postby aebrown » Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:59 am

The interface shows me my ward's boundaries, and I can even click on our mission or area and see those boundaries displayed. But I cannot see my stake's boundaries. When I click on the stake link, it simply goes to my stake center and I see a balloon with information about the stake, but no boundaries are displayed.

Does anyone else see stake boundaries?

RossEvans
Senior Member
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:52 pm
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Postby RossEvans » Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:27 am

Alan_Brown wrote:
Does anyone else see stake boundaries?


I don't. The only localized mapping interface I find is in a tab called My Ward, which displays only ward boundaries and members. I should think there would have to be another tab for My Stake.

Just speculating, but perhaps developers hit a performance wall when trying to display entire stakes. Or maybe that piece just isn't finished yet.

techgy
Community Moderators
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: California

Postby techgy » Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:28 am

Alan_Brown wrote:The interface shows me my ward's boundaries, and I can even click on our mission or area and see those boundaries displayed. But I cannot see my stake's boundaries. When I click on the stake link, it simply goes to my stake center and I see a balloon with information about the stake, but no boundaries are displayed.

Does anyone else see stake boundaries?


Click on "Zoom to" and choose stake boundary. You may have to zoom out a bit to see the boundary.

Sorry for the confusion. I've corrected the steps to see the stake boundary.

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 15123
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:37 am

boomerbubba wrote:I don't. The only localized mapping interface I find is in a tab called My Ward, which displays only ward boundaries and members. I should think there would have to be another tab for My Stake.

Just speculating, but perhaps developers hit a performance wall when trying to display entire stakes. Or maybe that piece just isn't finished yet.


I don't think another tab would be needed. Under "Show Resources" I see my stake, mission, and area listed, each with a different color icon to the left that looks like a boundary segment. I would expect that when I select one of those resources, I would see its boundaries. For the mission and area, I do see the boundaries, but for the stake I do not.

I doubt it's a performance issue; you can go to the legend and turn on the display of all missions, meetinghouses, etc., and the map dutifully displays all of those. When you zoom out and look at the whole Salt Lake Valley with meetinghouses displayed, the valley is densely covered with meetinghouse icons. Displaying one stake's boundaries is a lot simpler than that.

Did you go under your Show Resources area (under your ward's name) and click on the stake? That seems like the logical interface for showing stake boundaries.

Techgy wrote:Yes. If I turn the "Show Resources" on then click on "show list" then "Stake Boundary" I see the boundary. However, you have to zoom out far enough to show it. If you're zoomed in to see your ward, you won't get the stake lines.


Thanks for checking. That's somewhat comforting to know that your stake boundaries are displayed. But mine are not. And zooming is not an issue -- I have stake boundaries only a fraction of a mile to both the north and south of my ward, and they are just not being displayed.

User avatar
mkmurray
Senior Member
Posts: 3241
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:56 pm
Location: Utah
Contact:

Postby mkmurray » Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:38 am

Alan_Brown wrote:Does anyone else see stake boundaries?

I couldn't get stake boundaries to show either, no matter what I tried (including Techgy's suggestion).
Many questions are already answered on the LDSTech wiki. Check it out!

techgy
Community Moderators
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: California

Postby techgy » Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:43 am

Sorry for the confusion. I was referencing another feature that showed the stake resource and not the boundary. However, I DO see the stake boundary if I click on "Zoom to" then choose Stake Boundary. I have to manually zoom out a little but the boundary lines are there.

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 15123
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:48 am

Techgy wrote:Sorry for the confusion. I was referencing another feature that showed the stake resource and not the boundary. However, I DO see the stake boundary if I click on "Zoom to" then choose Stake Boundary. I have to manually zoom out a little but the boundary lines are there.


Ah, that's the trick. Thanks for the tip!

The Zoom To does indeed work and shows my stake boundaries. I still think it is odd that under Show Resources you can see three items with boundary icons, and clicking on two of them (mission and area) shows boundaries, but clicking on the other (stake) does not. But at least I can see the boundaries now.

I didn't have to manually zoom after doing Zoom To stake boundary -- the automatic zoom was perfect (as one would hope).


Return to “General Clerk Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests