New maps beta now available!

Use this forum to discuss issues that are not found in any of the other clerk and stake technology specialist forums.
techgy
Community Moderators
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: California

Postby techgy » Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:50 am

Alan_Brown wrote:Ah, that's the trick. Thanks for the tip!

The Zoom To does indeed work and shows my stake boundaries. I still think it is odd that under Show Resources you can see three items with boundary icons, and clicking on two of them (mission and area) shows boundaries, but clicking on the other (stake) does not. But at least I can see the boundaries now.


I didn't have to manually zoom after doing Zoom To stake boundary -- the automatic zoom was perfect (as one would hope).


The church considers a facility or building as a resource, so I would have to believe that the "show resources" tab would only display the physical resources. Obviously, there's some cleanup to be done. Perhaps this is worthy of a little feedback !

techgy
Community Moderators
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: California

Postby techgy » Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:59 am

One cool feature of the "zoom to" is the ability to check your membership addresses for those that may be incorrect. If you zoom to "all ward households" and you get a US map, you've got an address that isn't within your expected ward boundaries. You can them zoom in a little and find the address that's beyond the boundaries of the ward.

RossEvans
Senior Member
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:52 pm
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Postby RossEvans » Tue Nov 24, 2009 10:13 am

Techgy wrote:Sorry for the confusion. I was referencing another feature that showed the stake resource and not the boundary. However, I DO see the stake boundary if I click on "Zoom to" then choose Stake Boundary. I have to manually zoom out a little but the boundary lines are there.


Yup. That works for me.

jbh001
Community Moderators
Posts: 854
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Postby jbh001 » Tue Nov 24, 2009 10:37 am

Techgy wrote:One cool feature of the "zoom to" is the ability to check your membership addresses for those that may be incorrect. If you zoom to "all ward households" and you get a US map, you've got an address that isn't within your expected ward boundaries. You can them zoom in a little and find the address that's beyond the boundaries of the ward.
I've got one address that is within city limits in Oklahoma, yet is being mapped to somewhere in Houston, Texas. Betas are fun!

jbh001
Community Moderators
Posts: 854
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Postby jbh001 » Tue Nov 24, 2009 10:42 am

mkmurray wrote:This is not working for my credentials.
So... if your position is assistant clerk, how sure are you that your listing in MLS as an assistant clerk is using the Standardized Calling instead of a custom position? It sounds like it is worth verifying.

nutterb
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 7:06 am
Location: Berea, KY, USA

Postby nutterb » Tue Nov 24, 2009 10:43 am

With the exception of two addresses, every one of my households mapped correctly. The two that didn't were the two cases of families that shared a building with another member. In both cases, it was the second (in alphabetical order) that didn't map correctly.

In one case, although the families are technically in the same house (a duplex), they have different house numbers, and so it looks like the geocoder just got a little confused, but it was close enough to get you there.

In the second instance, there are two households in the same home (a grandmother living with her son as a nanny). This one didn't map at all.

If you have a lot of families in the same apartment complex, it looks like it could be somewhat tedious to group them all. Everything else seems to work exactly as I would expect.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 29128
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:00 am

boomerbubba wrote:In the case of apartment complexes in my ward, the Group names seem to need manual editing to strip the arbitrary apartment number from the name. The app does not seem to try parsing that out automatically.


From what I'm seeing, apartment numbers are being stripped out, but minor details can make it appear they are not working.

Example:

123 Main St. #102
123 Main St. #205
123 Main St #304

The first two will combine into a single group, but the third one won't. It's the difference between "St." and "St" - At least that's what I've noticed.


Techgy wrote:Sorry for the confusion. I was referencing another feature that showed the stake resource and not the boundary. However, I DO see the stake boundary if I click on "Zoom to" then choose Stake Boundary. I have to manually zoom out a little but the boundary lines are there.


That worked! I noticed that all boundary lines are the same color, not the colors suggested in the legend. Since they're the same color, I suspect that's only allowing one boundary at a time to be shown: Mission, Stake or Ward.



nutterb wrote:In the second instance, there are two households in the same home (a grandmother living with her son as a nanny). This one didn't map at all.


I'll bet it's there - just "under" the other one. (It's extremely hard to see "stacked" icons on the same location.) See my comment above about variations in the street name. To test this, locate the member in the listing on the left and click on it - you'll see where it got put in the map.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.

zaneclark
Senior Member
Posts: 1151
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:34 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Postby zaneclark » Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:23 am

zaneclark wrote:Yesterday when I first opened the site, the ward boundary line was very precise but today, although the households are still noted, the blue boundary line cuts off a whole neighborhood. I know this is still in beta so I am not too concerned..... Just an observation.


Just checked it again.... Boundary is now correct.... And that's beta!

User avatar
mkmurray
Senior Member
Posts: 3241
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:56 pm
Location: Utah
Contact:

Postby mkmurray » Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:40 am

jbh001 wrote:So... if your position is assistant clerk, how sure are you that your listing in MLS as an assistant clerk is using the Standardized Calling instead of a custom position? It sounds like it is worth verifying.

I'm 100% sure, because LDS Account is the one telling me I'm an assistant ward clerk over membership.
Many questions are already answered on the LDSTech wiki. Check it out!

nutterb
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 7:06 am
Location: Berea, KY, USA

Postby nutterb » Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:51 am

nutterb wrote:In the second instance, there are two households in the same home (a grandmother living with her son as a nanny). This one didn't map at all.


RussellHltn wrote:I'll bet it's there - just "under" the other one. (It's extremely hard to see "stacked" icons on the same location.) See my comment above about variations in the street name. To test this, locate the member in the listing on the left and click on it - you'll see where it got put in the map.


The second address had actually showed a different icon (an empty red circle in place of the dot) in the list on the left. I had to physically move it onto the first address to create the group. This wasn't a nuisance for me, since I only had two addresses I needed to stack.

But it's nice to know that specifying different apartment numbers will automatically create groups at the same address. I guess the difference for me was that there were no apartment numbers, so the addresses were completely identical. It's almost as if Maps was asking me, "are you sure?"


Return to “General Clerk Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests