Does Group Policy Manager let to add a device to mulitple firewalls??

Discussions about Internet service providers (ISPs), the Meetinghouse Firewall, wired and wireless networking, usage, management, and support of Meetinghouse Internet
Post Reply
MassagliaJA
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2020 6:38 am

Does Group Policy Manager let to add a device to mulitple firewalls??

Post by MassagliaJA »

Does the Group Policy Manager allow you to add the same device to the nosplash policy in multiple buildings at the same time? We have Mevo wifi cameras which we are using for streaming. We thought it might be a good idea to add each Mevo to every building's nosplash policy so that if one was lost or broken we could quickly move a different camera to replace it. We've been having weird issues though where it took a very long time (more than an hour) for the device's MAC address to show up in the second building or where it disappeared from the first building when it was added to the second building.

Thanks!
drepouille
Senior Member
Posts: 2750
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 6:06 pm
Location: Plattsmouth, NE

Re: Does Group Policy Manager let to add a device to mulitple firewalls??

Post by drepouille »

The device must be present and active in the building, so the MAC address of the device may be selected in TM for the nosplash policy.
Dana Repouille, Plattsmouth, Nebraska
User avatar
sbradshaw
Community Moderators
Posts: 5433
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:42 pm
Location: Utah
Contact:

Re: Does Group Policy Manager let to add a device to mulitple firewalls??

Post by sbradshaw »

Is there a limit to the number of devices that can be added to "NoSplash" for a given building?
Samuel Bradshaw • If you desire to serve God, you are called to the work.
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31129
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Does Group Policy Manager let to add a device to mulitple firewalls??

Post by russellhltn »

sbradshaw wrote:Is there a limit to the number of devices that can be added to "NoSplash" for a given building?
Yes.

The limit is 15.

I wouldn't think that would be an issue unless they're handed out as convenience to users rather then reserved for devices that can't click the page.

But the inability to add a MAC without it being present on the network would certainly be an issue. The flock of Mevos would have to be transported from building to building just to get added.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
User avatar
sbradshaw
Community Moderators
Posts: 5433
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:42 pm
Location: Utah
Contact:

Re: Does Group Policy Manager let to add a device to mulitple firewalls??

Post by sbradshaw »

russellhltn wrote:I wouldn't think that would be an issue unless they're handed out as convenience to users rather then reserved for devices that can't click the page.
Supposing MassagliaJA's stake has 16 buildings? :)
Samuel Bradshaw • If you desire to serve God, you are called to the work.
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31129
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Does Group Policy Manager let to add a device to mulitple firewalls??

Post by russellhltn »

sbradshaw wrote:
russellhltn wrote:I wouldn't think that would be an issue unless they're handed out as convenience to users rather then reserved for devices that can't click the page.
Supposing MassagliaJA's stake has 16 buildings? :)
Time for a better plan, since you're not going to be able to put all 16 on one firewall.

And there's always a possibility that one will fail, requiring the old one to be removed and the new one added in all the buildings.

Seems like you're trading one possible future headache for an ongoing management headache. I think they'd be better off "adding as needed".
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
Post Reply

Return to “Meetinghouse Internet”