Blinking Red - CISCO AP

Discussions about Internet service providers (ISPs), the Meetinghouse Firewall, wired and wireless networking, usage, management, and support of Meetinghouse Internet
Post Reply
kreeve
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:13 pm

Blinking Red - CISCO AP

#1

Post by kreeve »

One of the 6 Cisco AP's in the building is blinking red. Ideas?

Kevin
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31312
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Blinking Red - CISCO AP

#2

Post by russellhltn »

Blinking red - Ethernet link not operational
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
kreeve
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:13 pm

Re: Blinking Red - CISCO AP

#3

Post by kreeve »

Thanks, None of the 40 plus cables are labeled where they terminate at the patch. Replugged them all and power cycled the whole system, still the same. This AP sits in the cultural hall way up high out of reach. Will have to get the FM group to bring in their lift to get up and check the cables there. Everything else seems in line at the switches.
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31312
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Blinking Red - CISCO AP

#4

Post by russellhltn »

While it's possible that it's the cable from the AP, I'd look for link lights between the power source and the rest of the network. It may be that cable that is broken.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
User avatar
johnshaw
Senior Member
Posts: 2193
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Syracuse, UT

Re: Blinking Red - CISCO AP

#5

Post by johnshaw »

Cisco AP's are powered over the Ethernet Line, somewhere in your building the typical install is to have a cable from the switch to the POE device, then out of the POE device to the AP. that's one way to know specifically which cables are the AP's. When I installed a few I was able to put the POE devices pretty close to where the AP is, if you have attic access you could look around there.
“A long habit of not thinking a thing wrong, gives it a superficial appearance of being right, and raises at first a formidable outcry in defense of custom.”
― Thomas Paine, Common Sense
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31312
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Blinking Red - CISCO AP

#6

Post by russellhltn »

johnshaw wrote:Cisco AP's are powered over the Ethernet Line, somewhere in your building the typical install is to have a cable from the switch to the POE device, then out of the POE device to the AP. that's one way to know specifically which cables are the AP's. When I installed a few I was able to put the POE devices pretty close to where the AP is, if you have attic access you could look around there.
Although, some switches can power APs directly. I have Cisco switches that will light a orange light if the device plugged in is a PoE device.

IIRC, the external power bricks have a link light.

I would unravel the mess to find out what cables are involved in connecting this AP and see if there is a link light on the devices involved. Also, if there is a external PoE, power cycling everything at the firewall and switches may not power cycle the AP. Without figuring out the system. there's a good chance that FM will make a wasted trip to the ceiling. All that I would expect to find up there is a single cable going back to someplace more accessible.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
User avatar
johnshaw
Senior Member
Posts: 2193
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Syracuse, UT

Re: Blinking Red - CISCO AP

#7

Post by johnshaw »

When I power cycle an AP I always do it by unplugging the Ethernet Cable that is delivering the Power, whether that is at the switch (there are cisco and non-cisco switches that will power the AP's over ethernet from the device, but it isn't typical in my experience in meetinghouses) or the POE Brick.

I never cycle my firewall without power cycling the AP's after the firewall is back up. I generally unplug them all at the same time and only plug the AP's back in after the firewall is back up.
“A long habit of not thinking a thing wrong, gives it a superficial appearance of being right, and raises at first a formidable outcry in defense of custom.”
― Thomas Paine, Common Sense
kreeve
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:13 pm

Re: Blinking Red - CISCO AP

#8

Post by kreeve »

What does a bluish/purple light on a CISCO AP mean?
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31312
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Blinking Red - CISCO AP

#9

Post by russellhltn »

The led codes for the 1040 can be found here: https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/w ... ml#wp37791
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
kreeve
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:13 pm

Re: Blinking Red - CISCO AP

#10

Post by kreeve »

Great URL link. Thank you!
Post Reply

Return to “Meetinghouse Internet”