Activating a Wireless Access Point

Discussions about Internet service providers (ISPs), the Meetinghouse Firewall, wired and wireless networking, usage, management, and support of Meetinghouse Internet
Post Reply
lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 10306
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: US

Activating a Wireless Access Point

Post by lajackson »

Will a newly installed WAP activate on the meetinghouse network if it is not connected directly to an AP port on a managed switch?

I have a situation where only one managed switch was installed but there is actually a need for a second managed switch. The regular Ethernet runs to another building with an unmanaged switch that connects both a WAP and a wired connection. The old WAP was working fine but died. The new WAP will not activate, even though the line connects to an AP port. I suspect the unmanaged switch is getting in the way.
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31130
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Activating a Wireless Access Point

Post by russellhltn »

My understanding is that you can't have anything between the AP and a managed switch. I'm not sure, but that might even include a PoE device.

I'd giving support a call. It sounds like you should have a managed switch in the other building.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 10306
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: US

Re: Activating a Wireless Access Point

Post by lajackson »

russellhltn wrote:My understanding is that you can't have anything between the AP and a managed switch. . . . It sounds like you should have a managed switch in the other building.
mht (Meetinghouse Tech) agrees.
Post Reply

Return to “Meetinghouse Internet”