Can't Transmit

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
davesudweeks
Senior Member
Posts: 2169
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 9:16 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Post by davesudweeks »

lajackson wrote:We had a little fun one time when one of our ward clerks was speaking with Local Unit Support and got the "your stake should have called" line. He handed me the phone and I said, "the stake told him to call and I am standing here right next to him. I will hand the phone back to him so you can solve his problem."

And they made a very valiant effort to do so.
Very funny indeed! LOL
DavidCar
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:21 am

Post by DavidCar »

(I agree, LOL)

I did the Level 2 troubleshoot, deleting the Afaria files, and the transmission worked.

Since I'm a Mac user rather than a PC user, I was going to defer that task to the ward computer specialist, but choosing to be brave I followed the instructions, which were very clear, and after the restart the transmission worked fine.

The last time I called Salt Lake I ignored the messages and told the live person up front that I was a Ward Clerk, and they helped me just fine. It turned out in retrospect I would have been better off calling the Stake Clerk, but that's another story.
r_vinoya
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:50 am

Post by r_vinoya »

Good day.

I am a clerk for one of the branches in the Philippines.
I just want to know where I could find description of transmission errors and how to solve them...
Some of these were:
error 1: Unable to Transmit
error 4: Host not found...
There are some errors like "Un-authorized"... etc. etc.

Also, our connection was slow... fastest at 2KBPS... what is the minimum for transmission?
Sometimes I just want to update Finance... but when Send/Receive was pressed... I think ?M?Ls wants to update all.. including adding large update file.. which is very troublesome in our slow connection.

Thanks for any help.
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31143
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Post by russellhltn »

r_vinoya wrote:error 1: Unable to Transmit
error 4: Host not found...

Sounds like MLS is having a hard time reaching the church servers. The servers may be having a problem. I'd suggest waiting. If it doesn't clear up, then call your administrative office for support.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 15127
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Post by aebrown »

r_vinoya wrote:I just want to know where I could find description of transmission errors and how to solve them...

Have you reviewed the wiki article referred to earlier in this thread in this post? That has a lot of helpful information.
Questions that can benefit the larger community should be asked in a public forum, not a private message.
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31143
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Post by russellhltn »

I didn't want to point out that Wiki as it looks rather old. It refers to Afaria and dial-up and did not seem to address the issues he was having. I fear it will have him re-install MLS needlessly.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 15127
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Post by aebrown »

RussellHltn wrote:I didn't want to point out that Wiki as it looks rather old. It refers to Afaria and dial-up and did not seem to address the issues he was having. I fear it will have him re-install MLS needlessly.
Although the Afaria reference is out of date, the reference to dial-up is still current for many units. With a reported maximum speed of 2Kbps, it seemed possible to me that this issue involves dial-up. And most of the rest of the article still seems reasonable. Only the level 4 instructions deal with reinstalling MLS or say anything about Afaria -- if the first three levels have a chance of being helpful, that seems worthwhile. But I would agree that the level 4 steps should probably not be tried without consulting the administration office first.
Questions that can benefit the larger community should be asked in a public forum, not a private message.
Post Reply

Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”