Installation

Discussions around the setup, operation, replacement, and disposal of clerk computers, not to include using MLS
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31987
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

#21

Post by russellhltn »

Yes, the security suite is authorized for the Dell 740 and other "Non Standard Computers" that can not run the Image. Is it authorized to do that on computers that can install the image? I can't find that in writing.

Now, I will admit to a bias. Given a choice between the Image and the Security package, I'll take the image. But that's assuming there's a choice.
Alan_Brown wrote:So is such a computer running "Desktop 5.5"?
I wouldn't. I wouldn't even entertain the idea unless someone who knows what all went into the image can verify it's the same. As has been pointed out, the image includes backup/recovery tools.

We need a way to distinguish between computers that were imaged and those what had the components installed. So far we've used "Desktop 5.5" to distinguish the imaged machines.
User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 15138
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

#22

Post by aebrown »

RussellHltn wrote:Yes, the security suite is authorized for the Dell 740 and other "Non Standard Computers" that can not run the Image. Is it authorized to do that on computers that can install the image? I can't find that in writing.

Now, I will admit to a bias. Given a choice between the Image and the Security package, I'll take the image. But that's assuming there's a choice.

Given a choice, I would not disagree. But if you follow this thread, you will see that we are talking about a very standard computer -- one that was shipped to a unit through appropriate Church channels. Furthermore, there are several documents posted on mls.lds.org dealing with this standard computer. You only confuse the issue if you call it "Non Standard."

Furthermore, we are trying to help someone who is confused by people saying that he has to have Desktop 5.5, when he has no such image, and apparently no way to install such an image even if he had it. If you follow the Dell 740 instructions, will you end up with a computer that is precisely the same as an imaged computer? Of course not. But if you do follow those instructions, can you set up the Dell 740 computer in an approved way? Yes.

It really doesn't matter if we call such a computer Desktop 5.5 or not. If it is installed following the approved instructions, then it will meet the Church's security requirements.
farwest
Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: southern utah

ccn software

#23

Post by farwest »

Well I'm looking at "How to Set Up and Secure a New Dell 740 Computer" instructions and on # 4 Prepare a computer to transmit successfully. Where do you get CCN software if you do not have any. There is a dial-up and also ethernet cables connected to the back of the old computer. What do we need to do to make this work properly on the new dell 740?
User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 15138
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

#24

Post by aebrown »

farwest wrote:Well I'm looking at "How to Set Up and Secure a New Dell 740 Computer" instructions and on # 4 Prepare a computer to transmit successfully. Where do you get CCN software if you do not have any. There is a dial-up and also ethernet cables connected to the back of the old computer. What do we need to do to make this work properly on the new dell 740?

CCN is not software, but rather stands for "Church Communication Node". It is an Internet connection typically installed as part of an official Family History Center (sometimes also if an FM group is housed in your building). If you don't have a FHC in your building, you almost certainly don't have a CCN.

So all that that step is talking about is the way in which you will do your transmission. If you are in a building with a CCN (or if your area has been authorized for Meetinghouse Internet and an approved Internet connection has been installed under that program), you will be able to do your MLS transmissions via the Internet. In all other cases you will use a modem to establish a dial-up connection.
farwest
Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: southern utah

CCN Software

#25

Post by farwest »

Thanks again for your reply. I guess the confusion comes from the instructions on step 4 that state "install the CCN software obtained with the original installation of the network connection for the old computer. Yes we do have a FH center.
User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 15138
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

#26

Post by aebrown »

farwest wrote:Thanks again for your reply. I guess the confusion comes from the instructions on step 4 that state "install the CCN software obtained with the original installation of the network connection for the old computer. Yes we do have a FH center.
Ah, "CCN software" may well be a reference to the Odyssey client, which is the wireless client software that has traditionally been installed on computers that connect to the wireless access points (WAPs) that were often installed as part of a CCN installation. There are other possibilities now, but it is most likely that if you have WAPs on your CCN, they connect via the Odyssey client.

If indeed you had a wireless adapter for your old computer that allowed you to connect to the CCN network, then you should install that Odyssey client (I believe the executable is simply called "WirelessClient.exe") and call the GSD to get an activation key for your new computer. If your old computer was not connected to the CCN, then I wouldn't complicate matters by attempting to do that at this point -- it would seem prudent to deal with one issue at a time -- but you would have to make that decision.
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31987
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

#27

Post by russellhltn »

farwest wrote:There is a dial-up and also ethernet cables connected to the back of the old computer.
Since you appear to have wired eithernet, I don't think any CCN software is required. Are you able to browse to the web as-is?
farwest
Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: southern utah

installation went well

#28

Post by farwest »

Well with all the info I got from this site I worked my way through the installaton on the new dell 740. Didn't get the logon right. I had to call chc to reset things up there so we could connect. The problem I'm having now is the barcode scanner for temple recommends was there software for it as I can't find any in the office and I have been searching on this website for something on it but haven't found anything.
User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 15138
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

#29

Post by aebrown »

farwest wrote:Well with all the info I got from this site I worked my way through the installaton on the new dell 740. Didn't get the logon right. I had to call chc to reset things up there so we could connect. The problem I'm having now is the barcode scanner for temple recommends was there software for it as I can't find any in the office and I have been searching on this website for something on it but haven't found anything.

The scanner is plug-and-play, so you don't need any special software. The instructions for setting it up should have come with it, but if not, they are included with MLS. I thought I saw them in the MLS Help menu in our stake MLS, but I am not there right now so I can't verify that. Perhaps those menu items only show up when you actually plug in the scanner.

In any case, you can find all the instruction files (three PDFs) at C:\Program Files\LDS Church\MLS\lib\TES. There you can learn how to set up the scanner; it basically just involves scanning a few special bar codes in order to configure the scanner for use with temple recommend bar codes.
lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 10601
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: US

#30

Post by lajackson »

Alan_Brown wrote:I thought I saw them in the MLS Help menu in our stake MLS, ...
Yes. Start MLS. On the menus at the top, click Help and select Print Barcode Scanner Setup File ...

The page is also included in the next Help item if you select Print Instructions for Activating Temple Recommends.

These pdf documents are only available if you are running Stake MLS.
Post Reply

Return to “Clerk Computers”