Page 2 of 4

Re: Urgent Task -- Not

Posted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 9:07 am
by drepouille
It appears to me that the Urgent Task pop-up has been disabled. When I started the stake MLS just now, it only asked if I wanted to do a Send/Receive. I clicked No, and looked at the Urgent Task list, where I saw the "MLS has not been backed up recently" message. There was no Urgent Task pop-up at all.

Re: Urgent Task -- Not

Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2014 9:07 am
by scgallafent
drepouille wrote:It appears to me that the Urgent Task pop-up has been disabled.
It hasn't been disabled, so you should still be seeing it. I'd have to dig in to see what is going on, but I don't think we've made any changes there recently.

If you start seeing this consistently or anyone else starts seeing it consistently, let us know so that we can dig in and see what is going on.

Re: Urgent Task -- Not

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2014 7:48 pm
by jeromer7
Shame on me for not being diligent in noting when it started or reporting it, but I have consistently seen the Urgent Task pop-up every time I sign in to my stake MLS. It has been going on for awhile, so it may indeed have started with 3.7 in March as Br. Jackson reported.

Re: Urgent Task -- Not

Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 9:17 am
by scgallafent
I did a little poking to see if I could see what was triggering this, but didn't see anything obvious at first glance. I'd like to determine if it's happening to wards, stakes, or both.

When you get a popup that there are urgent tasks but nothing is listed on the urgent task panel, are you running MLS as a ward or a stake?

Re: Urgent Task -- Not

Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:30 am
by drepouille
Both jeromer7 and myself are stake clerks.

Re: Urgent Task -- Not

Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 11:25 am
by aebrown
drepouille wrote:Both jeromer7 and myself are stake clerks.
And just for a contrasting view, I would note that I am also a stake clerk, but I do NOT get the spurious "Urgent Tasks" message on startup with my stake MLS 3.7.0 installation.

Re: Urgent Task -- Not

Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 1:09 pm
by scgallafent
That lets me rule out the code that isn't executed for stakes. It is happening in wards or just in stakes?

Re: Urgent Task -- Not

Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 2:03 pm
by drepouille
I believe lajackson (in the OP) was using the stake MLS. My stake MLS was displaying this pop-up message for a while, but is no longer doing it.

Re: Urgent Task -- Not

Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 10:04 pm
by lajackson
scgallafent wrote:That lets me rule out the code that isn't executed for stakes. It is happening in wards or just in stakes?
It did not happen when I logged into a Ward MLS last week.
I will check Stake MLS when I am there tomorrow. My original post was about Stake MLS.

Re: Urgent Task -- Not

Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 10:37 pm
by benjamincarleski
I am both a stake and ward finance clerk for the moment, with the stake managing a recreational property, and so I have three units I sign into regularly on two separate computers. I have noticed on the stake MLS, it will list an urgent task every time I sign in with a task stating that a backup has not been done recently, even if I just signed out 5 minutes earlier and did a backup then. I have actually signed in and out 3 times in one 30 minute period (switching between the stake and recreational property), and each time a backup is required when exiting the stake unit, and an urgent message stating a backup hasn't been done recently (usually accompanied by a message about needing a send and receive) each time I log in. I haven't tried clicking on the message in the urgent messages list and doing a backup that way, but can try that when I'm in next. The recreational property unit does not have the same problem, but will typically only display an urgent message notice the first time I sign in.

The ward MLS behaves list the recreational property. It usually only lists that a backup has not been done if I log in again a couple days later. I have never had it display the urgent messages more than once in a day.