Windows 7 activation

Issues related to the use and operation of Family History Centers
Post Reply
drepouille
Senior Member
Posts: 2774
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 6:06 pm
Location: Plattsmouth, NE

Windows 7 activation

#1

Post by drepouille »

I had installed the latest Windows 7 FHC image onto several PCs. At that time, I activated Windows online, and all seemed to be well. However, right after the recent "Microsoft Update Tuesday" on July 8th, the Genuine Advantage scan reverted all those systems to an unactivated status.

We had to call Family History Center Support, and allow them to open a remote connection, download a script that changed the product key, and run the script "as Administrator". Now all is well again.
Dana Repouille, Plattsmouth, Nebraska
danpass
Senior Member
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 5:38 pm
Location: Oregon City, OR
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 activation

#2

Post by danpass »

Last week, Familysearch support ran their script on two of our computers which had this issue. Our FHC director called me a couple of days ago to report that both computers were again claiming to need Windows Activation. I asked her to call support again and let them know, but she hasn't been back to the FHC yet to do it. Has anyone else had this problem reoccur?
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31499
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Windows 7 activation

#3

Post by russellhltn »

danpass wrote:Last week, Familysearch support ran their script on two of our computers which had this issue. Our FHC director called me a couple of days ago to report that both computers were again claiming to need Windows Activation. I asked her to call support again and let them know, but she hasn't been back to the FHC yet to do it. Has anyone else had this problem reoccur?
Silly question: Are those two computers running Deep Freeze and if so, where they thawed at the time the activation script was run?
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
danpass
Senior Member
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 5:38 pm
Location: Oregon City, OR
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 activation

#4

Post by danpass »

russellhltn wrote:
danpass wrote:Last week, Familysearch support ran their script on two of our computers which had this issue. Our FHC director called me a couple of days ago to report that both computers were again claiming to need Windows Activation. I asked her to call support again and let them know, but she hasn't been back to the FHC yet to do it. Has anyone else had this problem reoccur?
Silly question: Are those two computers running Deep Freeze and if so, where they thawed at the time the activation script was run?
No they are not running Deep Freeze.
tomnjeri
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 6:59 pm

Re: Windows 7 activation

#5

Post by tomnjeri »

Are you running 32-bit Windows 7 or 64-bit Windows 7? You can check this by right-clicking the Computer icon and going to properties.

If it is 32-bit the activation script doesn't work. It is only for 64-bit Windows 7. If you have 32-bit there is a process you can do with Microsoft to activate them. You need to use the option to call for activation. I did it on 17 computers before I updated to 64-bit. Not too hard and takes only a few minutes per computer.
User avatar
rl_albright
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2013 11:54 pm
Location: Lakewood, WA

Re: Windows 7 activation

#6

Post by rl_albright »

I am having the same problem. Setup my front desk computer, and I am going to be installing Deep Freeze (haven't done it YET), went to install the system at the center. And now I am being told that the copy of Windows may not be genuine. HUH??
Post Reply

Return to “Family History Centers”