MLS does not load

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
Post Reply
yongsa
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 4:46 pm

MLS does not load

#1

Post by yongsa »

Hello:

For two weeks now we've been having issues with our MLS.

When we double click on the MLS icon on our windows 10, the splash screen comes up, the closes.

Nothing LDS related in the Windows 10 Task Manager, so it's not loading.

Any tips on where we should start to fix this issue?

Thanks.

Sincerely,

Bro Herb Cruz
Maple Ridge Ward, Abbotsford BC Stake
Canada
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31962
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: MLS does not load

#2

Post by russellhltn »

Download MLS and install on top of the existing. If that doesn't work, I think you'll have to call support on Monday.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
drepouille
Senior Member
Posts: 2812
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 6:06 pm
Location: Plattsmouth, NE

Re: MLS does not load

#3

Post by drepouille »

It is quite possible that someone made the mistake of answering "NO" to the RTpack.exe utility the last time MLS updates were released. I know I did that years ago because I had no idea what RTpack.exe was, or why it was running on my admin PC.
Dana Repouille, Plattsmouth, Nebraska
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31962
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: MLS does not load

#4

Post by russellhltn »

drepouille wrote:It is quite possible that someone made the mistake of answering "NO" to the RTpack.exe utility the last time MLS updates were released.
Maybe, but I've not heard of that causing MLS to stop loading. I think what usually happens is that keeps prompt coming up each time MLS starts until someone says "yes".
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
drepouille
Senior Member
Posts: 2812
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 6:06 pm
Location: Plattsmouth, NE

Re: MLS does not load

#5

Post by drepouille »

Agreed. Someone would need to review the MLS log file to determine the error message.
I should have written rtpatch.exe, rather than rtpack.exe, by the way.
Dana Repouille, Plattsmouth, Nebraska
jirp
Member
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:02 pm
Location: Greybull WY

Re: MLS does not load

#6

Post by jirp »

russellhltn wrote:Download MLS and install on top of the existing. If that doesn't work, I think you'll have to call support on Monday.

Be aware you need to be able to call church headquarters to do this. You have to reset the security token for MLS with any install before you can use it.
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31962
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: MLS does not load

#7

Post by russellhltn »

jirp wrote:Be aware you need to be able to call church headquarters to do this. You have to reset the security token for MLS with any install before you can use it.
No call is required to download MLS. Loading MLS on top of itself doesn't usually trigger the security token.

Doing a new install, or a uninstall/re-install would trigger that. Sometimes messing with the data files can do it.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
aclawson
Senior Member
Posts: 760
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:28 pm

Re: MLS does not load

#8

Post by aclawson »

jirp wrote:Be aware you need to be able to call church headquarters to do this. You have to reset the security token for MLS with any install before you can use it.
If you back up the MLS directories, install the fresh copy of MLS, then restore the backup (NOT through the MLS process, you do this with Windows Explorer) then the security token reset is not needed.

I believe you want the enter folder "LDS Church" which is found under c:\ProgramData.

Install MLS but do NOT run it.

Put your copy of ..\LDS Church\ back into C:\ProgramData and THEN run MLS and you should be fine.
Post Reply

Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”