Bishop's Schedule added to LDS tools /LDS.org

Discuss ideas and suggestions around the Church website.
coltonshields

Bishop's Schedule added to LDS tools /LDS.org

Post by coltonshields »

Wondering how I can help.

The idea -
lds tools mobile app /lds.org has a scheduling tool so the bishop can set up what days/times he is available to meet. Members can log in and chose a time and get reminded day before and 30 mins before the appointment. The idea came when I was researching ways to do electronic sign ups for tithing settlement. I realized that every ward in the world has this same problem and every ward does something different. It makes sense for this to live in lds.org/ldstools. I don't think this replaces the executive secretary by any means but helps him be better at his job.

I am wondering if there is anything I can do to help this idea come to fruition. I am a software engineer and willing to help build this tool. If lds.org had public API's that we could use then I would have already built this tool/website. It makes the most sense for this to be part of lds.org/ldstools and not some 3rd party website. Anyways just curious if this is even on the road map or something that is even possible.

Looking for feedback and or collaborators .

Thanks
rmrichesjr
Community Moderators

Re: Bishop's Schedule added to LDS tools /LDS.org

Post by rmrichesjr »

Not speaking from any semblance of official position, just from personal observations: