Page 1 of 1

Having to add Macs to NoSplash

Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2020 3:25 pm
by russellhltn
I wonder if anyone else has run into this. Users of apple products (probably Macbook) are having to be added to the NoSplash policy in order for them to work. It seems like they should be able to deal with the splash screen and move on from there.

I've run into this with two different users on two different buildings, so it's not a one-off.

Re: Having to add Macs to NoSplash

Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2020 3:50 pm
by Biggles
One of my Bishopric Counsellors uses a Mac for the Zoom side of our Sunday services. He didn’t have any issues with logging in without the No Splash policy. He didn’t think anything about it. However I did eventually (After about 3 weeks) add his Mac to the No Splash policy, as it meant that he didn’t have to remember to login when preparing for the meeting to start.

Re: Having to add Macs to NoSplash

Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2020 4:47 pm
by lajackson
Remember that there is a limit to the number of devices you are able to add to the NoSplash policy. Not all of the members will be able to have it.

Also, elsewhere here at the Forum it has been suggested that iOS spoofs the MAC address of the device as a security mechanism. This also means a member must continually sign in to Liahona as they walk around the meetinghouse. There is a way to set the device so that it does not spoof the MAC address. The setting is WiFi network specific, so it an be set for just the Liahona network.

Re: Having to add Macs to NoSplash

Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2020 5:07 pm
by russellhltn
lajackson wrote:Remember that there is a limit to the number of devices you are able to add to the NoSplash policy. Not all of the members will be able to have it.
Yes, I know. But this will have to do for the moment. The alternative is to tell them they can't use a Mac on the church network. Fortunately, not all that many members bring laptops to church.

One of the people I'm working with has good computer skills and it is happening to two Macs under his care. According to him "the splash screen opens but doesn't load". Of course, without being able to click on that screen, they're not going anywhere.

I'd love to find a fix, but I'm not sure what else to tell them to do.

lajackson wrote:Also, elsewhere here at the Forum it has been suggested that iOS spoofs the MAC address of the device as a security mechanism.
Yes, but I'm not sure as Mac OS does the same. I'll cross that bridge if it comes up. If it does, then I really need a work around to communicate to the users.

Re: Having to add Macs to NoSplash

Posted: Sat Nov 28, 2020 8:22 am
by melx
We are seeing the same problem with multiple Macs at our stake center. I cannot believe no one has found a solution to this. If you find one, please post it.

Re: Having to add Macs to NoSplash

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2020 4:14 pm
by dbaresrc
I wonder if it's related to the version of MacOS they're running? I'm on 10.15.7 (Catalina) and have never had a problem, Including last night when I was working an issue in our Stake Center.

Re: Having to add Macs to NoSplash

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2020 4:21 pm
by russellhltn
It could be, but I'd think the browser in use would be more significant.

Re: Having to add Macs to NoSplash

Posted: Thu Dec 24, 2020 6:00 am
by jacobstimpson
It’s the browser. I see this on my Mac all the time. Use safari to get the captive portal prompt after that any browser works.

You can also visit http://captive.apple.com/ And it will hit the portal from any browser.

Re: Having to add Macs to NoSplash

Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2022 8:01 am
by garnsb
jacobstimpson wrote: Thu Dec 24, 2020 6:00 am It’s the browser. I see this on my Mac all the time. Use safari to get the captive portal prompt after that any browser works.

You can also visit http://captive.apple.com/ And it will hit the portal from any browser.
This was legit! Not sure how you found this, but it is a solid fix.