Understanding VLANS or Zones

Discussions about Internet service providers (ISPs), the Meetinghouse Firewall, wired and wireless networking, usage, management, and support of Meetinghouse Internet
Forsters

Understanding VLANS or Zones

Post by Forsters »

Just installed new Managed switches. I'm a network engineer, so I understand the purpose behind using s VLAN, but the Church doesn't allow us STS's to see the policies behind the Zone. Does anyone understand the intended purpose behind the following:

1. Special Purpose Zone: What advantages / disadvantages does a Special Purpose Zone provide? When should we apply one?

2. Link: Should we use Link to connect larger Unmanaged switches in the meetinghouses? Or Public?

While deploying these switches I have adhered to the following principles:

1. Nothing but the Managed Switch and Modem Uplink connected to the Firewall.

2. ALL of the Meraki POE Access Points connected to the Managed Switch and tagged to Zone "AP".

3. ALL of the Facilities connections connected to the Managed Switch and tagged to Zone "Facilities".

4. Currently I have the Unmanaged switch connected to the new Managed Switch on the Public Zone, but I'm not sure if that's correct.

5. ALL Meetinghouse endpoints connected to the Unmanaged Switch.

I don't currently deal with Workforce users, so I haven't had to tag any endpoints to Workforce, but I don't see that as an option on these Meraki MS120 switches. Along those lines, I might need to deploy a managed switch into a Bishops Storehouse. Would those be considered Workforce users or Public?
russellhltn
Community Administrator

Re: Understanding VLANS or Zones

Post by russellhltn »

Here's what I know:

Public: is assigned an IP in the 192.168.x.x range. This same range is re-used at every site, so the church has enough IPs for overlapping congregations of devices.

All other zones tend to be assigned a unique 10.x.x.x address so someone outside the building can VPN to them.