Multicast enable in Stake Center?

Discussions about Internet service providers (ISPs), the Meetinghouse Firewall, wired and wireless networking, usage, management, and support of Meetinghouse Internet
wgotzmann

Multicast enable in Stake Center?

Post by wgotzmann »

I am new to my calling and workign to provide options for Multiple Video receives for Conferences etc.

The need or preference to have Multicast enabled on the local network would be helpful. I gather this is in the Router Has anyone looked at this ?

In learning and reviewing what could be done - I found the NDI is one of the newest and most flexible free methods to tranmit recieve video Audio to do this. NDI 5.5 software

We can use OBS ( Open Broadcast Studio) the output to the network - 6-8 stream TVs or projectors in various locations - the receivers can be Laptops if they are robust enough (NDI Monitor) - But I found that the New Apple TVs have NDI APP which will allow them to recieve the (Sienna NDI) broadcasts ( very easy to use) they work much better than most laptops in this function. testing 4 streams works well

The band width used can add up with typical network infrastructure Unicast. Verse - Multicast that is used on large-scale and video transmission arrangments. This has also been suggested in NDI groups as the one-go-to method to improve the network efficiency.

I phoned GSL tech help, so far they were not aware or unsure if this can be done.

The main router is my next step in reviewing myself - but not sure if this is pass word protected etc. for the Stake Techs Reps

We have a new 24 port POE main switch which has helped get us this far.

Thanks for your thoughts
russellhltn
Community Administrator

Re: Multicast enable in Stake Center?

Post by russellhltn »

The router and switches are under the control of Church Headquarters. You have limited access for things like assigning static IPs via the Church Network Manager website.