Internet over coax

Discussions about Internet service providers (ISPs), the Meetinghouse Firewall, wired and wireless networking, usage, management, and support of Meetinghouse Internet
Post Reply
RSlaugh
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:45 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA

Internet over coax

#1

Post by RSlaugh »

We've successfully installed internet in 3 of our 4 buildings by installing new CAT5 cables in crawl spaces so we have wired access in critical locations plus some wireless access. The fourth building has flat roof with basically no crawl space plus cement block walls so it will be very difficult to install new cable.

We do have video distribution via RG6 cables to all of the rooms where we would need internet. Has anyone done a cost effective internet distribution in a meetinghouse over the existing video cabling. It would be similar to a wired installation in a motel using their TV cables. We can get cable modems for $60 each or even less buying older models. We haven't found a cost effective head-end unit. Has anyone had experience with this?

Reed
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31957
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

#2

Post by russellhltn »

How is the RG6 cable run? Any pull strings left behind?
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
RSlaugh
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:45 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA

#3

Post by RSlaugh »

There are no pull strings. Some RG6 is in conduit, so we could probably pull the RG6 out, and then pull it back in with CAT5. Other RG6 was installed later with an HVAC upgrade, and is laid along the ducts but not in conduit, and is now covered with drywall.
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31957
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

#4

Post by russellhltn »

Put "Ethernet over Coax Adapter" into your favorite web search engine, and I think you'll find some solutions.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
User avatar
kh_design
Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 2:57 pm
Location: ..
Contact:

hard-wire irony

#5

Post by kh_design »

Years ago we were intalling internet into our local buildings and our local FM also would not approve a hard-wire install of plenum CAT5e cable for all of the reasons stated in this post http://tech.lds.org/forum/showthread.php?t=2250

Well the irony now is our Stake went to a new exterior door lock system using scan fobs and the exterior door lock systems are hard-wired to the communications panel. The irony is at the time the FM group was not willing to hard-wire two Clerks offices with plenum CAT5e cable, however now they are willing to hard-wire two exterior doors to the communications panel located right next to the DSL modem and router.
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31957
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

#6

Post by russellhltn »

kh_design wrote:The irony is at the time the FM group was not willing to hard-wire two Clerks offices with plenum CAT5e cable, however now they are willing to hard-wire two exterior doors to the communications panel located right next to the DSL modem and router.
If it was me, I'd let the Stake President know and let him take it from there.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
Post Reply

Return to “Meetinghouse Internet”