switch

Discussions about Internet service providers (ISPs), the Meetinghouse Firewall, wired and wireless networking, usage, management, and support of Meetinghouse Internet
Post Reply
farwest
Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: southern utah

switch

#1

Post by farwest »

Looking at putting wireless in one of our older buildings built in 1972. Cinder block and brick construction. We was wondering if you can put a switch on the line coming into the computer in the clerks office and split off and put a Aironet 1041n in from there? We would be doing two office's like that if it will work.
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31965
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

#2

Post by russellhltn »

Not optimal, but doable. Don't forget the power injector for the 1041.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
harddrive
Senior Member
Posts: 501
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:52 pm

#3

Post by harddrive »

farwest wrote:Looking at putting wireless in one of our older buildings built in 1972. Cinder block and brick construction. We was wondering if you can put a switch on the line coming into the computer in the clerks office and split off and put a Aironet 1041n in from there? We would be doing two office's like that if it will work.
Like Russ said, it will work, but why do it that way?

The best way would be to pull a network cable from the room where the router is to where you want the wireless coverage. The wireless access points (WAP) can have a good range. I have one unit that was built about the same time and it is Cinder Block and brick and I put a D-Link wireless access point in there and I had full coverage.

I just recently added a 881W to that building because the PIX was becoming unreliable. Now, I'm pretty sure that I have better coverage in that building.

Now in the building that I attend my meetings, half of it is cinder block and brick and the other half is stick built. I will be replacing the PIX there with an 881W and all the aironet 1200 series with the 1041n. My plan is to put the WAPS above the ceiling and hopefully the 1041n has a good signal that I will be able to only use one 1041N and the 881W and get full coverage of the building. I will let you know next week what I did.
farwest
Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: southern utah

wireless old building

#4

Post by farwest »

Talking with the internet provider employee who knows the building said it hard to string wire in this building because of the way it was built. So he suggested the switch at the clerks room where wire is already there. Looking forward to see how your wireless works because we getting ready to do this building. The aironet power supply for the power injector is going to be the same part number FM said.
User avatar
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators
Posts: 4508
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:56 am
Location: Layton, UT

#5

Post by Mikerowaved »

farwest wrote:Talking with the internet provider employee who knows the building said it hard to string wire in this building because of the way it was built.
We ran into a similar situation in one of our buildings. The cost of pulling additional runs was very high, so we made do with what we had. Most of our AP's there (non-Cisco) are daisy-chained off of other runs. It reduces the reliability factor somewhat, because if one piece breaks it will take out an entire string, but it's been running flawlessly for several years now.
So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
bradhokanson
Church Employee
Church Employee
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Utah, USA

#6

Post by bradhokanson »

farwest wrote:Looking at putting wireless in one of our older buildings built in 1972. Cinder block and brick construction. We was wondering if you can put a switch on the line coming into the computer in the clerks office and split off and put a Aironet 1041n in from there? We would be doing two office's like that if it will work.

This will work but the initial configuration of the 1041 can take a bit of time. Fastest one I have seen is 15 minutes. When you first get the 1041, dont plug it into the switch but put it directly to the 881w for a day or 2 and then move it to the switch. We have seen problems when a new AP is installed and is connected to a switch instead of the 881w.
Post Reply

Return to “Meetinghouse Internet”