How many stake assistant clerks?

Use this forum to discuss issues that are not found in any of the other clerk and stake technology specialist forums.
Post Reply
zaneclark
Senior Member
Posts: 1179
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:34 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

How many stake assistant clerks?

#1

Post by zaneclark »

Can there be more than one Stake Assistant Clerk without membership or finance added to the calling, just Assistant Clerk?
lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 10414
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: US

Re: How many stake assistant clerks?

#2

Post by lajackson »

zaneclark wrote:Can there be more than one Stake Assistant Clerk without membership or finance added to the calling, just Assistant Clerk?
Absolutely. There can be as many assistants as the stake president feels are needed.
zaneclark
Senior Member
Posts: 1179
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:34 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Re: How many stake assistant clerks?

#3

Post by zaneclark »

The reason I asked the above question was that I lost my access to stake reports and other data when our stake clerk added the word newsletter to my stake clerk calling when he added someone else as an assistant stake clerk. My new designation is listed as a custom calling and so lacked access. I asked him about this and he said it was because you can only have one Stake Assistant Clerk. After your reply, I told him to try deleting my calling and re-enter it as a Stake Assistant Clerk without the Newsletter added. He did this, and it still shows in orange in CDOL as a custom calling, so he says he was correct the first time....
Any thoughts?
zaneclark
Senior Member
Posts: 1179
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:34 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Re: How many stake assistant clerks?

#4

Post by zaneclark »

The reason I asked the above question was that I lost my access to stake reports and other data when our stake clerk added the word newsletter to my stake clerk calling when he added someone else as an assistant stake clerk. My new designation is listed as a custom calling and so lacked access. I asked him about this and he said it was because you can only have one Stake Assistant Clerk. After your reply, I told him to try deleting my calling and re-enter it as a Stake Assistant Clerk without the Newsletter added. He did this, and it still shows in orange in CDOL as a custom calling, so he says he was correct the first time....

(Before I posted this, I did a random search of CDOL, and found other stakes with Stake Assistant Clerks NOT in orange so I am assuming you were correct, so what is my stake clerk doing incorrectly?)
User avatar
Biggles
Senior Member
Posts: 1499
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 5:14 am
Location: Watford, England

Re: How many stake assistant clerks?

#5

Post by Biggles »

Is he entering the calling under Organisation, or your individual profile?

Last week I realised that, certainly from a Bishopric perspective, most Standard Bishopric callings can only be entered under the Organisation tab. Perhaps the same for a Stake Presidency related calling?
lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 10414
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: US

Re: How many stake assistant clerks?

#6

Post by lajackson »

zaneclark wrote:I told him to try deleting my calling and re-enter it as a Stake Assistant Clerk without the Newsletter added. He did this, and it still shows in orange in CDOL as a custom calling, so he says he was correct the first time...
He probably deleted you from the calling, edited it to remove the Newsletter part, and then added you again to the custom calling.

He might wish to totally delete the calling, and add you again as a Stake Assistant Clerk. We have quite a few, so I know it works if the calling is a standard one.
russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 31525
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: How many stake assistant clerks?

#7

Post by russellhltn »

A standard position is a standard position and a custom is a custom. One does not magically convert from one to the other. IIRC, you select standard/custom before entering the calling. I think you have to remove/release to switch from one to the other.
Have you searched the Help Center? Try doing a Google search and adding "site:churchofjesuschrist.org/help" to the search criteria.

So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
Post Reply

Return to “General Clerk Discussions”