Content found in this wiki may not always reflect official Church information. See Terms of Use for more information.

Account Setting Options on Zoom

From TechWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search

>> Meetinghouse Technology >>

In this article we will discuss what features are available to use on Zoom. There will be a link out to helpful websites for you to learn more about the features.

Large Meeting

Large Meeting is an optional feature for Meetings that allows you to host up to 500 or 1000 participants. In large meetings, everyone can participate with audio, video, and screen sharing at their and the host's discretion.

If you want to invite fewer than 500 participants to a scheduled or instant meeting, you can do so without the Large Meeting feature.

Hosting Large Meetings

Webinar

The Meeting and Webinar platforms offer similar features and functionality but have some key differences.

Meetings are designed to be a collaborative event with all participants being able to screen share, turn on their video and audio, and see who else is in attendance.

Webinars are designed so that the host and any designated panelists can share their video, audio and screen. Webinars allow view-only attendees with the ability to interact via Q&A, Chat, and answering polling questions. The host can also unmute the attendees. Attendees in webinars, can not rename themselves as well.

Zoom Video Webinar allows you to broadcast a Zoom meeting to up to 50,000 view-only attendees, depending on the size of your webinar license. Webinar licenses start at a capacity of 500 participants and scale up to 50,000 participants. As the host or a panelist, you can share your screen, video, and audio in a webinar, while attendees can use the chat or question and answer options to interact with the host and panelists.

Webinars can require pre-registration, with the option for the host to add custom registration questions, or registration can be turned off for attendees to join by simply clicking a link at the time of the webinar. Webinars can be held once, reoccur in a series, or can be the same session held multiple times.

Getting Stared with Webinar

Meeting and Webinar Comparison

Chat

The chat feature allows participants to chat with others while in a meeting or webinar. As the host, you can control who participants are allowed to chat with. You can also disable the chat feature for all participants, or disable private chat so participants cannot send private messages to other participants.

Enabling or Disabling In-Meeting Chat

Private Chat

The private chat feature allows participants to send private messages to other participants while in a meeting. Private messages between participants are not viewable by the host. Disabling private chat prevents participants from privately messaging other participants, but still allows participants and the host to send private messages to each other. Hosts can also disable chat for everyone in the meeting.

Enabling and Disabling Private Chat

Allow Live Streaming

Enabling "Allow Livestreaming" allows you to livestream your webinars on Facebook, Workplace by Facebook, YouTube or a Custom Live Streaming Service.

Enabling Allow livestreaming of webinars

Enabling Allow livestreaming of meetings

Breakout Rooms

Breakout rooms allow you to split your Zoom meeting in up to 50 separate sessions. The meeting host can choose to split the participants of the meeting into these separate sessions automatically or manually, or they can allow participants to select and enter breakout sessions as they please. The host can switch between sessions at any time.

Enabling Breakout Rooms

Managing Breakout Rooms

Closed Caption

Zoom has a variety of options for creating virtual closed captioning in your Zoom meetings and webinars that provide subtitles for video conferencing. This may be used for participants to easily follow the conversations or to meet accessibility requirements.

In meetings, the host or another meeting attendee assigned by the host can provide manual captioning, an integrated third-party closed captioning service can provide the captioning, or Zoom's live transcription feature can provide automatic captioning through closed caption settings. These same options are available with webinars, although manual captioning can only be provided by the host or a panelist. Any of these captioning options are also viewable in Zoom Rooms


Managing Closed Captioning

Co-Host

The co-host feature allows the host to share hosting privileges with another user, allowing the co-host to manage the administrative side of the meeting, such as managing participants or starting/stopping the recording. The host is the only user who can assign a co-host. There is no limitation on the number of co-hosts you can have in a meeting or webinar.


Enabling and adding a co-host

Non-Verbal Feedback

If the meeting organizer enables the Nonverbal feedback and Meeting reactions features, meeting participants can place an icon in their video panel and beside their name in the participants panel to communicate with the host and other participants without disrupting the flow of the meeting. For example, selecting the Slow down icon places the icon in your video panel and beside your name to indicate you would like the host or presenter to go slower.

All participants can see the icons that everyone else has chosen. In addition, the host sees a summary of how many participants are displaying each icon and has the option to remove all nonverbal feedback.

By default, the meeting reactions have a yellow skin tone. On the Zoom desktop client for Windows and macOS, you can also set your skin tone.

Emoji reactions will disappear after 10 seconds, while raise hand and nonverbal feedback, such as "Yes" "No", "Slow down", and "Speed up", will be persistent and must be manually removed by the participant or host.

Nonverbal Feedback and Meeting Reactions

Polling

The polling feature for meetings allows you to create single choice or multiple-choice polling questions for your meetings. You will be able to launch the poll during your meeting and gather the responses from your attendees. You also can download a report of polling after the meeting. Polls can also be conducted anonymously, if you do not wish to collect participant information with the poll results.


Full details of the poll results, such as each participant's answers and submission times, are contained in the polling reports, which are available after the meeting by default, but can also be made available during the live session.


Enabling Polling for Meetings

Polling for Webinars

Polling for Meetings